In September, 1984, former Orange Coast College volleyball star Debbie Slemmons, the team’s Most Valuable Player the preceding season, was killed when a car driven by a drunken driver jumped the center divider on Pacific Coast Highway and crashed head-on into the vehicle Debbie was driving. Orange Coast College has established a perpetual scholarship in honor of her memory, awarded each year to a Pirate who has made a valuable contribution to the program.

Slemmons Memorial Scholarhip Recipients
Year Player
1984 Jamilee Moens
1985 Stacye Smythe
1986 Kim Rochow
Long Beach State
1987 Kristi Moothart
Cal Lutheran
1988 Jody Fee
Cal Poly Pomona
1989 Kari Yee
UC Riverside
1990 Stephanie Svidergol
UC Santa Barbara
1991 Jennifer Kurtz
Cal State Fullerton
1992 Bryn Gillis
Iowa State
1993 Becky Welty
Cal State Fullerton
1994 Heather Ruhl
UC Santa Barbara
1995 Heather Daze
UC Irvine
1996 Amber Ambrose
CS Hayward
1997 Jennifer Fish
Azusa Pacific
1998 Lizette Montero
UC Riverside
1999 Suzie Packard
North Dakota
2000 Lauren Wilson
Long Beach State
2001 Daylyn Kelly
Chico St
2003 Amber McCarthy
Eastern New Mexico Univ.
2004 Janae Woodard
Cal State Fullerton
2005 Samantha Connor
Wright State
2006 Joanna Johnson
2007 Rebecca Lowe
NY Institute of Technology
2008 Christine Richards
Hope International
2009 Poerave Gantt
Chaminade University
2010 Kimya Jafroudi
2011 Haley Russell
Montana State-Northern
2012 Isabel Emrich Academy of the Arts
2013 Kourtney Chadderdon  
2014 Angelique Scarantino UCLA
2015 Danyelle Brown Dickinson State
2016 Measha Lindstrand Hope International